Tilghman Watermen’s Museum Reveals 2023Christmas Ornament

The 2023 Christmas Ornament commissioned by the Tilghman Watermen’s Museum is now available for purchase. The 9th ornament in their unique collection relating to Tilghman history features the “old” drawbridge over Knapps Narrows.
The drawbridge was constructed in 1934 and was Maryland’s only overhead counterweight bascule span. It was used from 1935 – 1998, and it was opened approximately 12,000 times each year. When it needed to be replaced, it was moved to the campus of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, where it now spans the entrance.
The 2023 ornament may be purchased for $25.00, which includes tax. They are available at the Museum, located in the Lee House at 6031 Tilghman Island Road, Two if by Sea restaurant, 2 Vintage Chics Boutique, and Fairbank Tackle. Online purchases can be made by visiting the museum website: www.tilghmanmuseum.org, or by email: twm6031@gmail.com. Phone orders will be taken at 410-886-1025.
The Tilghman Watermen’s Museum is in their fifteenth year of celebrating, documenting, preserving and sharing the history, traditions, heritage and culture of Tilghman Island. The museum is open on weekends from 10am to 3pm from late April until November. Off-hour tours are available by calling 410-886-1025. For additional information, contact us by email: twm6031@gmail.com or visit our website: www.tilghmanmuseum.org.